Skip to page content.


2015 Logo


6th Annual

No R Word Program


Elementary Presentations: 39

Middle and High School Presentations: 21

Total Students: 4672 / Total Schools: 24

Total New Schools: 5

College/Community Presentations: 2

No R Word Contests

Essays Submitted: 98

Posters Submitted: 475

Bulletin Boards Submitted: 12

Our gratitude to area school districts and their schools for participating in this year's No R Word Campaign:

Daviess County Public Schools:

Audubon Elementary; Burns Elementary; Country Heights Elementary; Deer Park Elementary; East View Elementary; Sorgho Elementary; Southern Oaks Elementary; West Louisville Elementary; Burns Middle School; College View Middle School; Daviess Co. Middle School; Apollo High School; Daviess Co. High School

Hancock County Public Schools:

North Hancock Elementary

Henderson County Public Schools:

A.B. Chandler Elementary; North Middle School

McLean County Public Schools:

McLean Co. Middle School; McLean Co. High School

Muhlenberg County Public Schools:

Central City Elementary; Longest Elementary; Muhlenberg Co. High School-East Campus

Ohio County Public Schools:

Wayland Alexander Elementary; Western Elementary

Owensboro Public Schools:

Cravens Elementary; Estes Elementary; Newton-Parrish Elementary; Owensboro Middle School-South; Owensboro High School

Union County Public Schools:

Union Co. Middle School

Area Catholic Schools:

Owensboro Catholic 4-6; Trinity High School


2015 Poster Contest Winners

Eli Layman

Eli Layman (2nd grade) - 1st place, Grade K-3,

West Louisville Elementary, Daviess County

Emmah Haynes

Emmah Haynes (3rd grade) - 2nd Place, Grade K-3

West Louisville Elementary, Daviess County

Jackson Forbes

Jackson Forbes (2nd grade) - 3rd Place, Grade K-3

North Hancock Elementary, Hancock County

Bethany Pate

Bethany Pate (5th grade) - 1st Place, Grade 4-6

North Hancock Elementary, Hancock County

Bailey Hall

Bailey Hall (5th grade) - 2nd Place, Grade 4-6

A.B. Chandler Elementary, Henderson County

Simone Gordon

Simone Gordon (5th grade) - 3rd Place, Grade 4-6

A.B. Chandler Elementary, Henderson County

OHS Winners

Breanna Alderton (Freshman), 1st Place, Grade 9-12

Maya Holcomb (Junior), 2nd Place, Grade 9-12

Alexis Cain (Junior), 3rd Place, Grade 9-12

Owensboro High School, Owensboro


2015 Essay Contest Winners

College View Winners

Caroline Boarman, 1st Place, Grade 7-8, Winning Essay

Madison Roberts, 2nd Place, Grade 7-8, Winning Essay

Sara Gootee, 3rd Place, Grade 7-8, Winning Essay

All 7th graders at College View Middle School, Daviess County

Trinity High School

Katelyn Coomes, 1st Place, Grade 9-12, Winning Essay

Zach Boarman, 2nd Place, Grade 9-12, Winning Essay

Alena Varble, 3rd Place, Grade 9-12, Winning Essay

All 10th graders at Trinity High School, Whitesville, Daviess County

2015 Bulletin Board Contest Winners

Burns Elementary

Top Award, Elementary School

Burns Elementary School (Daviess County), #Radiating Respect

Union County Middle

Top Award, Middle School:

Union County Middle School, Labels are for Soup Cans

Muhlenberg Co High School

Top Award, High School

Muhlenberg County High School, East Campus

UPlifting Words - Deflate the R Word

Eastview Elementary

Honorable Mention, Elementary School

East View Elementary (Daviess County)

Words are Like Branches

Oboro Middle School South

Honorable Mention, Middle School

Owensboro Middle School - South Campus

Tolerance in Any Language

Apollo High School

Honorable Mention, High School

Apollo High School (Daviess County)

Now Presenting. . . . . Respect




Carolyn Ferber, Community Education Coordinator

270-683-4517 or [email protected]




815 Triplett Street
P.O. Box 1668
Owensboro, Kentucky 42303
PHONE | 270-683-4517
TOLL FREE | 877-932-2678
[email protected]